Tennessee Intercollegiate Supreme Court
Tennessee Intercollegiate Supreme Court
Judicial Branch of the Tennessee

TISC Counterbalances Legislature

The Tennessee Intercollegiate Supreme Court is the judicial branch of the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature.

The Court has two primary functions:

Justices serve one-year terms that begin upon the adjournment of each year's TISL General Assembly; they may be reappointed twice for a total of three years.

The Court is open for business all year but spends most of its time preparing for AMC3 and the General Assembly, which occur over four days each November.

Justices are appointed by the Governor of TISL from a slate of nominees submitted by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission. In keeping with Tennessee practice, the Court elects the Chief Justice.

The Court adopts its own Rules of Procedure and elects its own officers, including the Clerk & Marshall. Consistent with the Tennessee Constitution, it also appoints the Attorney General of TISL.

Justice William Koch of the Tennessee Supreme Court and Judge Frank Clement Jr. of the Tennessee Court of Appeals advise the Court on ethics, decorum and procedure. The Tennessee Supreme Court also provides physical resources and other support.

Courthouse Sponsor


TISC History & Organization

All-Time List of Justices

TISC on facebook

Tennessee Supreme Court

Tennessee Supreme Court Historical Society

Justice Sandra Day O'Connor's Our Courts Program

Copyright 2008 et seq. Tennessee

Special Advisers

Justice William Koch
Justice Jeff Bivins
Tennessee Supreme Court

Judge Frank Clement Jr.
Judge Frank Clement Jr.
Tennessee Court of Appeals

Special Adviser Emeritus

Justice William Koch
Former Justice William Koch
Tennessee Supreme Court


Applying for the Supreme Court | Applying for Attorney General

Tennessee Intercollegiate Supreme Court LMUDuncanhoriz